First Team-ish ride.

So today was pretty legendary, spent the morning trolling around finding State Parks my mom is named after and such, as well as finding small towns. Sounds boring to most, it might be, I like it.

Anyway after my parentals left I hung out with Sarah, who is a crazy Triathlete, who is joining the cycling team, and she is also my girlfriend of almost 3 years, so yea that was cool.

Ate some sweet lunch, and then I got ready for the ride! I put on the new shoes and rode them finally, they are pretty sweet, I just have to fine tune the cleats and such.

We rolled out from in front of the Mountainlair at 2:35,  got there at 2:15 and got stared at for a while, which was cool. Soon my ride- mates showed up. It would just be 3 of us: Tess, Cara (Kara?), and I. We rolled out of town on the bike path sort of thing across the Monongahela river, and quickly found ourselves climbing on some wild back roads, and such. As my first ride in a month, this was honestly quite challenging at times! As it turns out Tess, and I raced in some of the same fields this year, as she enjoys racing with more than 3 people at a time. It was a great 40 mile ride, we were somewhat confused about our location a couple times, but Tess figured it out as she has the most experience riding here out of the three of us. It was really great to test out the legs, I started to get really tired after the ride, which is not really surprising. We saw a ton of great views, and climbs, and fast ripping descents, Tess, and I almost got into a head- on collision with a van exiting a tight switch back.

All in all it was a great ride!

I rode back up high street and was looked at by many as I rode through the dorm.

Great ride, really looking forward to more some time soon.

Here are the files (I’m not afraid to share, I think it is helpful to look at other people’s files).

Training Peaks:

http://www.trainingpeaks.com/av/25M6SYYFQPIXV2FLFRRARH7DKU

Strava:

http://www.strava.com/activities/79613354

Check back for a video soon!

The video is here!: http://youtu.be/N7pU1lEU0FU

 

Thanks,

Nick Caddenhead

Leave a comment